Family · Life

Choose what is right…

The choices we make determine our destiny.

After hearing this from the talk of our living prophet, President Thomas S. Monson, I can’t help but think about my family’s situation right now.

My husband is currently running as a municipal councilor in his hometown Pagbilao, Quezon. At first, I was really against the idea of him running. I was having a lot of reservations because of what I have been hearing about politics here in the Philippines. The corruption. Issues of safety. Constituents taking advantage of the politicians. A never-ending list of negatives. I have this idea that, when he pursues this, our lives wouldn’t be the same. And it’s starting to be that way now.

But we are given by our Heavenly Father agency. The ability to choose what is right from wrong. And I guess, my husband chose to serve his hometown for the greater good of many. To set the wheels of change into motion for the future of the next generation of Pagbilaoins.

In closing, let me quote President Monson from the same talk:

May we maintain the courage to defy the consensus. May we ever choose the harder right instead of the easier wrong.

Striving hard to choose the right,

kikaymum

Leave a Reply

